NaPoWriMo Day #04 – 3-Legged Dog, 12-Bar Blues

Today’s NaPoWriMo challenge is:

another musical one, loosely adapted from the suggestions here, which revolve around writing a poem based on a musical form. (Hat tip to P. Agarwal!) Now, the forms they suggest are rather complicated classical forms, but I suggest you write a blues.

The traditional blues song is the 12-bar blues, in which all the lyrics basically boil down to any number of three line stanzas in which two lines are more or less repeated, followed by a third line. Here’s an example:

I love my man better than I love myself
Lord, I love my man better than I love myself
And if he don’t have me, he won’t have nobody else

Lovely jubbly. So naturally I decided to write a poem about a three-legged dog. For me, it should be sung by someone like Seasick Steve or Gil Scott-Heron. Here goes.

I got a dog, and three legs he’s got.
Yeah, got a dog, and three legs he’s got.
Doggy can’t walk straight, Doggy hobbles a lot.

I got a dog, and three legs he’s got.
Yeah, got a dog, and three legs he’s got.
Found my dog a wheel, put it where the fourth leg’s not.

I got a dog with three legs and a wheel.
Yeah, got a dog with three legs and a wheel.
Doggy don’t like walkies, Doggy likes scooting down the hill.

I got a dog, scooting wild and free.
Yeah, got a dog, scooting wild and free.
Watch out for that traffic! Doggy, you’ll lose the other three!

Doggy’s back at the vets, more wheels than before.
Yeah, doggy’s back at the vets, count them: One, Two, Three, Four!
Doggy’s really wheely, ain’t got no more legs no more.

Doggy don’t seem happy, don’t know how long he will last.
No, Doggy don’t seem happy, don’t know how long he will last.
And with those four new wheels, he’ll go downhill very fast.

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day #04 – 3-Legged Dog, 12-Bar Blues

Leave a Reply

